Tags

, , ,

The first sign for us that things were not progressing normally for Elijah is when he reached 8 months old and still wasn’t even attempting to sit independently.  One of the things we’ve found with him is that motivation is really important.  I can’t even begin to calculate exactly how much money I’ve spent on various toys in the hopes that somehow whatever new toy would be the answer, the toy that helped him “insert milestone here.”  For the most part it’s been a useless venture, but there have been some that stood out as successes.

When we were working on getting Elijah to sit we needed something that would hold his attention for a sustained period of time but that he needed to sit to play with.  Two toys that were tremendously helpful for us were the vtech learn and discover driver (http://www.amazon.com/Vtech-Learn-and-Discover-Driver/dp/B000231FAE/ref=sr_1_2?s=toys-and-games&ie=UTF8&qid=1337391272&sr=1-2)  and the vtech sit to stand learning walker (http://www.amazon.com/VTech-80-077000-Vtech-Sit-to-Stand-Learning/dp/B000NZQ010/ref=sr_1_1?s=toys-and-games&ie=UTF8&qid=1337391529&sr=1-1).  In general vtech toys have tended to be favorites of Elijah’s.  I’m not sure why but that brand has been a consistent winner for him.

Since we finally discovered exactly what the cause of Elijah’s delays is I’ve gotten better about searching for whatever new miracle toy is out there, and instead find myself searching for toys that are recommend by other parents of children with developmental delays and autism.  Not so much because I think they will work a miracle, but because I want Elijah to enjoy his childhood and with a limited budget I want to maximize the options he has available for play.  That searching (and the extremely limited resources I’ve found) is why I’m posting my own experiences.  I’ll post about these periodically, and I intend to divide them up by age and/or milestone so it’ll make it easier to find.  If anybody else has any experience with toys that worked really well for their children I would appreciate the input 🙂

